Independent results service from National Lotteries around the World.

  • Select Your National Lottery:
  • UK
  • IE
  • AU
  • ZA

EuroMillions Jackpot Cap

EuroMillions has a jackpot cap of €190 million. Once the top prize reaches this mark, it cannot grow any higher and special rules come into effect.

Any extra funds which would have gone towards the jackpot are instead diverted to the next winning tier, and the top prize can roll over four times at €190 million before it has to be won in the fifth draw at that level.

How the Jackpot Cap Works

The EuroMillions jackpot rolls over every time it is not won and gets bigger in the following draw, and this continues to happen as normal as it approaches the €190 million mark.

EuroMillions Jackpot Cap Explained

Once the jackpot money has been won, the top prize will be reset to its minimum value of €17 million for the next draw.

History of the Jackpot Cap

When EuroMillions launched in 2004 there was a limit of 11 rollovers rather than a jackpot cap, and if nobody matched all five main numbers and both Lucky Stars in the 12th draw then the top prize would be split by players in the next winning tier.

A jackpot cap of €185 million was later introduced in November 2009, and was reached for the first time in July 2011, at which point Chris and Colin Weir from the UK landed the top prize. Rules stated that the jackpot cap could increase by €5 million after being won and it subsequently went up to €190 million, before later being permanently fixed at this amount.

The jackpot cap at this time was only allowed to roll over at €190 million for one draw before having to be won in the following draw. The first time the jackpot reached €190 million, in August 2012, it rolled over to a second draw and had to be won. Adrian and Gillian Bayford from the UK matched all five main numbers and both Lucky Stars to win €190 million.

A player from Portugal also won €190 million in October 2014 when the jackpot once again reached the cap. In September 2016, the EuroMillions rules changed to allow the top prize to stay at €190 million for five draws rather than two. The jackpot hit its cap once again on Tuesday 3rd October 2017. It rolled on that occasion, before a Spanish player picked up the full €190 million in the draw on Friday 6th October.